[CD] Stranger Things • S1

Click image to return to the STRANGER THINGS page.


Stranger Things Volumes One and Two feature the original score by Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein, members of the popular Austin experimental synth band S U R V I V E.

“The directors were previously fans of S U R V I V E. They used a song from our first LP in a trailer they made to pitch their concept to Netflix. Once the show was picked up, they reached out to see if we were available to score the show,” Dixon stated. Stein added, “We discussed having a classic tone and feel to the music for the show but being reserved enough that it wasn’t ’80s cheese, while offering a refreshing quality so that felt modern. This was one of the qualities that drew them to our music in the first place. Having a familiarity with classic synths worked, but with an overall forward thinking approach.”

Formed in 2009, the prolific Austin, TX experimental synth quartet S U R V I V E have released two full­-lengths and numerous EPs / singles since their inception, including recent contributions to the soundtrack for the acclaimed indie horror film The Guest. S U R V I V E has appeared at esteemed festivals across the US including Moogfest, Levitation Fest, Fun Fun Fun, Beserktown, Day in The Desert, Decibel, etc. and have played alongside acts like Goblin, John Maus, Tame Impala, Lightning Bolt, This Will Destroy You, A Place To Bury Strangers, Max Cooper, and many others; Noisey called their live show “transcendental.”

Stranger Things is the breakout Netflix original series set in 1983 Indiana where a young boy vanishes into thin air. As friends, family and local police search for answers, they are drawn into an extraordinary mystery involving top-secret government experiments, terrifying supernatural forces and one very strange little girl. A love letter to the ’80s supernatural classics that captivated a generation, Stranger Things stars Winona Ryder, David Harbour, Matthew Modine, Finn Wolfhard, Millie Bobby Brown, Gaten Matarazzo, Caleb McLaughlin, Natalia Dyer and Charlie Heaton. Season 1 is now streaming on Netflix globally. Season 2 premieres October, 2017.

1 Stranger Things 1:07
2 Kids 2:38
3 Nancy and Barb 1:05
4 This Isn’t You 2:23
5 Lay-Z-Boy 1:34
6 Friendship 1:12
7 Eleven 3:14
8 A Kiss 1:25
9 Castle Byers 2:47
10 Hawkins 5:00
11 The Upside Down 5:07
12 After Sarah 1:25
13 One Blink for Yes 1:46
14 Photos in the Woods 4:32
15 Fresh Blood 1:16
16 Lamps 1:15
17 Hallucinations 1:36
18 Hanging Lights 1:33
19 Biking to School 0:44
20 Are You Sure? 2:26
21 Agents 0:50
22 Papa 1:27
23 Cops Are Good at Finding 1:08
24 No Weapons 3:24
25 Walking Through the Upside Down 1:19
26 She’ll Kill You 2:05
27 Run Away 1:47
28 No Autopsy 1:03
29 Dispatch 0:41
30 Joyce and Lonnie Fighting 1:02
31 Lights Out 1:04
32 Hazmat Suits 1:43
33 Theoretically 1:33
34 You Can Talk to Me 0:53
35 What Else Is There to Do? 1:59
36 Hawkins Lab 2:37

Composer: Kyle Dixon
Title Theme: Michael Stein
Composer, Engineer: Michael Stein
OST Arrangement: Dixon & Stein

Soundtrack Album Producers: Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein
Executive Soundtrack Album Producers: The Duffer Brothers
Music Supervisor: Nora Felder

Executive Album Producers for Lakeshore Records: Skip Williamson and Brian McNelis
Director of A&R: Eric Craig
Art Director / A&R: John Bergin
Mastered by: Brad Boatright at Audiosiege
Special Thanks: Joel Roman, Lynn Hobensack and Don Smith

Music Published by Maisie Anthems (ASCAP)

More CDs From Our Store

Scrolling: hover on any title in the listing, then scroll your mouse to the desired title.

Stranger Things Articles

Stranger Things Features

Stranger Things Store