[AMPAS] Museum Update

Click image to return to Chicago Sci-Fi’s Academy of Movie Picture Arts and Sciences/OSCARS® Fan Page!


On Wednesday, the Academy Museum of Motion Pictures announced a landmark donation of $50 million from Cheryl and Haim Saban—the largest gift to the Academy Museum Campaign. In recognition of their generosity, the May Company Building will take on a new name: the Saban Building.

The Museum also revealed that entertainment executive Ron Meyer will head its newly established Board of Trustees. As Vice Chairman of NBCUniversal—where he has become the longest-serving studio chief—and co-founder and former President of Creative Artists Agency, Meyer brings unmatched experience and vision to the Board. “It is an honor to be part of such a significant project,” Meyer said, calling the museum “an essential cultural destination for Los Angeles.”

Get a first glimpse at concepts for museum content, which includes a permanent exhibition tracing the evolution of filmmaking. Combining sets, large-scale moving images, costumes, props, sound installations, and dramatic immersive environments, this journey will evoke the power and emotion of film as visitors move through time.

Academy and City of Los Angeles dignitaries at the press event included: John Bailey, President of the Academy Board of Governors; Academy Museum Director Kerry Brougher; philanthropists and Academy Museum supporters Cheryl and Haim Saban; Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti; Museum Board Chair and Vice Chairman of NBCUniversal Ron Meyer; Chairman of the Museum Capital Campaign and Chairman and CEO of The Walt Disney Company Bob Iger; Academy Board of Governor’s Vice President and President of Lucasfilm Kathleen Kennedy; and Academy CEO Dawn Hudson.

Visit our Academy of Motion Picture Art & Sciences page to read Oscar® telecast news, Academy news and watch Academy videos!

Read more about The Oscars & AMPAS
Scrolling: hover on any title in the listing, then scroll your mouse to the desired title.

Text and/or Images ©2017 The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS). All Rights Reserved.