2017 • Production Design • Onstage

Click image to return to Chicago Sci-Fi’s Academy of Movie Picture Arts and Sciences/OSCARS® Fan Page!

90th Oscars Onstage Transcript: Production Design

SPEECH BY: Paul Denham Austerberry, Shane Vieau and Jeffrey A. Melvin
FILM: “The Shape of Water”

PAUL DENHAM AUSTERBERY: First of all, thanks to all the Canadian crew who are partying right now at the Palais Royale in Toronto. This is for you. Thank you to the Academy. Guillermo, may you keep dreaming up your monsters and their wonderful stories so that people like us can help shape their worlds. Thanks to Miles Dale, David Greenbaum, Nancy Utley, Matthew Greenfield, everyone at Fox Searchlight, please keep making wonderful films like this. Luis Sequeira, Dan Laustsen, we would not be up here without your support. Nigel Churcher and all the amazing art department and construction and paint crew in Toronto. Thank you. And my wonderful people right here.

SHANE VIEAU: A big thank you to our amazing crew back in Toronto. Without you guys we definitely wouldn’t be here today, thank you.

JEFFREY A. MELVIN: I share this award with the people who put me here: my wife and kids, Sheila, Alex, Sarah. My coworkers who were inspired by Guillermo’s vision: Avril, Alexx, Angie, Carlos, Dominic, Toni, Jeff, Byron, Karl, Brenton, Nigel, William, Dave and David, Marc, Trace, Matthew, Marina and Donnie. Thank you so much for getting this for me.

Scrolling: hover on any title in the listing, then scroll your mouse to the desired title.
Scrolling: When right scroll-bar appears, hover on any title in the listing, then scroll your mouse to the desired title.

Acceptance Speeches

News About Oscar® Telecasts)

Articles (Magazine) about the Oscars®

Read more about AMPAS (Non-Oscar® Telecast)


Videos • Academy Conversations

Videos • Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting

Videos • Academy Events

Videos • Awards Behind The Scenes

Videos • Ceremony Flashbacks

Videos • Academy War Film Collection

Videos • Film Archives

Text and/or Images ©2017 The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS). All Rights Reserved.